Firstly, I want to say that this is my fist time to visit old people in nursing house, so I am a little bit nervous, but I am glad that our school give me an opportunity to do some social works, I appreciate a lot. Before I went to nursing house, I worried about how to communicate suitable with old people. Truth to be told, I have acquired a lot via this practice. At the beginning of the interview, we introduced ourselves and gave gifts to them. They are very kind to us. After a while, we started asking our questions which we want to know. The question that I most wanted to know is what problems you facing now in nursing house. It is a pity that the oldest grandma is unable to listen clearly, so it takes a little bit trouble for us. However, we knew unintentionally that one of the grandma has been to American several times and realized America deeply. She thought China is better than America, the reason is that China is more alive. I like her most, because she is so kind and talkative. Unfortunately, her daughters are living in America now. But there is a big problem that I could not understand Shanghai native language. Furthermore, although they told us they love the life in nursing house, I still could feel they miss their children so much and expect their children to take care of them. Thus, I think that send parents to nursing house is not a good choice, because children are the most precious in parents’ mind. You cannot imagine how important you are. Therefore, we should spend more time accompanying our parents. I would like to visit other ole people during holidays. This is our responsibility, is not it?




Leave a Reply.